Change Eternal ( Phyllis Hyman beat ) …


Here a quick whip up beat I made from a Phyllis Hyman track, the sequence is about 8 bars.
She had mad talent, man they dont make vocalist like her anymore & on top of that she was dime.

Process:

I started out with my drums I used 3 layers of snares to get a certain sound & also 3 layers of hi hats
2  layers were the same exact sound with varying volumes and the other hats are a sample with more highs to give the impression of dynamics. The kick I just eq’ed somewhat to bring out more of the lower mids…

The main sample where she says “though we may change” I duplicated on 2 tracks to get a richer sound hopefully, you never know with digital it takes more time to get heat I miss the SP1200…

 

-ST

enjoy

~ by BE LIKE WATER on October 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
