The Climate in Miami right now a, black perspective…


I must say, today the city was electric , unique and quantifiable, let me also preface that by stating the obvious, I’m black. I noticed a kind of honesty with my brushes with other “races” , like I was just another person enjoying the beautiful day, and not a would be thief if not carefully scrutinized till out of sight. In terms of non-verbal communication there was less guardedness, possibly solidarity? But alas still mostly just calculated tact thanks to the protests happening here. I’m a practical optimist who’s accustomed to more tacit slights that remind me I am black and they are not and this is how we dance. No noticeable difference in the black woman I met with but other races of woman were not as stuck up. That is not to imply that sistas were stuck up mind you. You know the type of white girl that baits you into looking her way via sound or energy, only to feign reproach at the mere suggestion that she might be interested in me, a black dude, disgusting. None of those shenanigans to report…
I don’t get how a dude that’s 6.2 and jacked by some standardsI guess, I don’t care,  could feel a need to dominate territory at the bars today ( white guy ) , and then starts to mimic my training routine WTF , as if to say I can do that too. I lie, I know well why it is, I emanate a vibe of godliness so people want to “hold that”, as in steal the vibe, not today jack! Like always I leave the pull-up bar because of unseen forces, the last straw is when I go to do pull-ups on the monkey bars and this … “dude” attempts to bogard the whole thing , I wasn’t aware that on the opposite side of the bars another dude was taking pictures of him; don’t look at the camera he implored while buddy posed on the bars as if doing a “legit” workout,sad, it would have be nothing were he to hsve said to me ; excuse me man would you mind waiting a second while I get this shot, rather than physically trying to take up space and force me aside through weak show of aggression. Because of which I did not move, I simply could not have, on everything I stand for. Another thing that happens sometimes is dudes ( usually non black ) will do things to interrupt your set, all this sideways homo sh*t that is unbecoming of a man and really sad. To close the loop on the monkey bar story I just stunted on them and walking away like I had just KO’ed a overzealous opponent in the first second of the first round, still, mind you , I’m calm as ever, that isn’t to say that being call is always the answer. All these things mind you are but footnotes in what was the most epic of days you could imagine, The water was cold enough to spiritualize, I practiced front kicks and did some anti-gravity movements that would probably be impossible save for the fact that I was in 3 ft of ocean water doing them. I did extensive stretching before I ran today, I like to take a day and really honor , bless, console my feet and ankles . To achieve this end I slide my feet in the sand for about 300 yards , forwards and backwards. I do slide-kicks, a combination of a double hop on one foot and a kick with the opposite foot about 6 inches high in alternation, stupid dope fresh .

On the way home I glace a chic from school, I just glance her and as we board the rail she speaks, I am short as she is with some dude but alas he is only a friend I gather from the way they were and she was paying me close attention. I tell her goodbye as we exit the mini-rail just to close the loop. Then I see them again at the top of the rail station waiting on another train, were going to the same direction exiting just one stop apart. I act surprised by the second meeting and ask if they were leaving Art Basel, true enough. I like her and want to smash but thirstiness is out of the question, principally so. We jive close to an hour then part ways , good sh*t my kin, will catch her later on. You can’t make this stuff up, it’s pure magic . SALUTE

As an added bonus find me on instagram/AquanautST for pics and musings paired with this current adventure!

~ by BE LIKE WATER on December 8, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
